I Didn’t Die!

This afternoon I was typing away in my office when my husband came in and informed me that he needed to turn the breaker off and I would lose the lights for a while. I told him to go ahead because the screen on my computer would be lit up so I could keep working. He left and I’m typing frantically to get some emails out so I could wrap up for the day. I hit the send button and wait, and wait, and wait. Now I know it does not take that long to send an email. I hit send again and still nothing happens. I’m thinking something just locked my computer up and I just need to shut it off but I’m not finished working. After waiting nearly 10 minutes for nothing to happen; I discover I have no power in the office at all. Our house is so old and wired so poorly that when the breaker was flipped not only did the lights go out but all the outlets too. My modem is plugged into a now dead outlet. I could have sat there all day and kept hitting send and my email never would have gone. My laptop continued to work because I was running on the battery. Upon discovering I didn’t have internet anymore I sat staring at my computer wondering what I was going to do. Really?! I sat there dumbfounded. I finally shut my computer off and felt sheepish that it stumped me for that long. It wasn’t all that long ago that there wasn’t an internet connection literally everywhere. Now suddenly I was frantic without it. I had the rest of the afternoon and evening internet free and guess what; I didn’t die. I spent time with my British Lab running in the park and cleaning the house. I enjoyed my free time and I urge everyone to take a couple of hours, or a day, off from technology and enjoy the people and surroundings you are in. I did.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Penny for Your Thoughts...

