Last Call

My ParkerAttending a writers conference is a great way to learn more about writing and publishing. As an added benefit attendees can network with other writers and learn from them also. Friendships and writing partners are born during these conferences. Mississippi River Writers has extended the registration deadline to May 6th for their writing conference in Dyersville, Iowa on May 11th. I will be traveling to Iowa for this event and you can register on Mississippi River Writers website if you would like to attend.

The topics covered will include:

  • Developing Characters
  • Pros and cons to submitting manuscripts to large vs. small publishing companies
  • Self-Publishing from start to finish
  • Group writing activities
  • Share your work with a group for critique

I hope to see you there!

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Last Call

  1. I’d love to go to a conference some day, but there’s nothing around here. For now, I live (learn?) vicariously through everyone’s blogs when they come back and report on their experiences, but it’s not quite the same. πŸ™‚

    This one looks fantastic!

    • I am excited to go to this conference. There will be a lot of good information presented. I can’t imagine you are the only writer in your area. Does the library or community education department in your school district offer classes or gatherings for writers? I know the county library system where I live offers free classes to writers on character development, agents, plot, etc..

      • Sadly, no. There’s a NaNoWriMo group in St. John’s, 4 hours away; if there’s anything at the university, it’s just as far. I would love to take online classes if we could afford it, but what I really want is to spend time with other writers- ones at my level, and ones I can learn from. I can pick up most of the craft stuff from books, but not the interaction.

        There is a writer’s association (again, based far away), but they don’t do much. πŸ™‚

      • I understand what you are saying about wanting to personally interact with other writers. For now keep doing what you are doing, the rest will come πŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: Writers Conference Coming Soon | The Wandering Barefoot Editor

Penny for Your Thoughts...

