NaNoWriMo – My Epic Fail

2013-Participant-Square-ButtonWe are seven days into National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) and I have not written one stinking word! I have the perfect first sentence to start my novel and I know where I want it to go and yet, I can’t seem to find the time to write anything down. When I do have time to write I’m tired and want to go to bed. I know that is an excuse but that’s how my first six days have gone. I think about what I want to write all the time, I just haven’t put my pen to the paper in my pretty pink notebook that I have carried everywhere.

The object of NaNoWriMo is to write a 50,000 word novel from November 1st to November 30th.

 This translates to:

  • 50,000 words in 30 days
  • 1,667 words per day for 30 days.
  • 12,500 words for the next four Saturdays
  • 6,250 words every Saturday and Sunday in November
  • 2,000 words per day for the next 23 days

It really doesn’t matter how you break it down, it’s 50,000 words in the end! The novel doesn’t have to be perfect by any means but you must have 50,000 words by November 30th.

This means I’m currently 11,669 words behind!
Epic Fail!

I know I can catch up if I slow down and take time to write. My goal for this weekend is to finish packing my house and catch up on my 50,000 words.

Ok, Ready, Set, Go!!!

If you are participating in NaNoWriMo, how do you stay motivated to get those words on the page?
Leave a comment

Filed under NaNoWriMo, Self-Publishing, Writing

Penny for Your Thoughts...

